My name is Elizabeth, and you could say I have a thing for stripes. I’m 36 and live in New Jersey with my husband, Dan. We got married at a brewery in January 2013, and it was the happiest day I can ever remember.

I like baseball (even if the Mets break my heart more often than not). I have always been interested in photography, but my first year of daily photos in 2006 sent me fully down the photography rabbit hole (and introduced me to some of my best friends!). Since then, I have completed four full (nonconsecutive) years of daily photos. Photography is one of the things that makes me happiest.

I currently own eleven pairs of Converse (including the glittery pair I wore on my wedding day). I like making neat piles. I will always choose the brightly colored option. I read a lot of books. I can’t resist a beer sampler. I would wear jeans every day if I could get away with it. I drink large quantities of coffee and own a lot of scarves. I can’t seem to stop myself from buying nail polish and pens. If I like you, I probably call you “dude”.

I have always lived in New Jersey. It’s not very much like you’ve seen on TV. Ever since I moved inland, I have missed the ocean more than I can say. Sometimes I am embarrassed that not only have I only ever lived in one state, but I have actually only ever lived in two neighboring counties IN said state (including college). But I can’t really imagine living anywhere else. NJ doesn’t get a lot of credit, but it’s a pretty great place to live for more reasons than you’d think.

After a lifetime of trying to figure out what to do with my life, I got my Masters in Library and Information Science in 2007, and worked as a public reference librarian for several years. After a lot of soul searching, I left the field to take my organizing skillz elsewhere. I will probably always think of myself as a librarian (the inherent nerdery, bookishness, and penchant for organizing were a part of my personality long before I considered it as a career path).

Our son Benjamin was born in May 2014 then our daughter Joanna joined the scene in April 2016. Life has been crazier and tireder and happier ever since. I was a stay at home mom for almost three years before going back to work.

I have been writing online in one form or another since 2000, and it seems strange to stop now. I was at throwingwaffles.wordpress.com for five years, but have been writing here since 2011.

You can email me at shelikesstripes [at] gmail [dot] com.

Oh! And the photo of me was taken by my friend Jodi McKee.